I. Introduction

Countless fans have struggled with this question: what order do I watch Alien and Predator movies? A compelling sci-fi universe exists, but what is the most effective way to experience it? If you are looking for an answer, you have come to the right place. This article will explore different viewing orders that suit all types of viewers, whether they want to follow the story chronologically, watch movies in the order of release, or focus on one specific universe.

II. Exploring the chronological order of the Alien and Predator movies

If you want to understand the story and the broader universe, consider watching the movies in chronological order. Start with the earliest period in the Alien franchise, which is the earliest event in the timeline.

The recommended chronological order of movies is: Prometheus (2013), Alien: Covenant (2017), Predator (1987), Predator 2 (1990), Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007), Alien 3 (1992), Alien: Resurrection (1997), and end with Alien (1979).

This approach lets you piece together the history of the universe in a way that makes the most sense. However, since the films were not intentionally designed to be viewed in this specific order, there are moments that might confuse some viewers. For instance, continuity problems between films or flashbacks that disrupt the flow of the film. This order is suggested for people who are interested in the universe’s timeline and want to be as informed as possible.

III. The release order of the Alien and Predator movies

Watching the movies in the order they were released is a more traditional approach that gives the viewers an opportunity to consider the evolution of the franchise. This approach lets you experience and to appreciate the growth of the ideas and concepts over time. Cherishing the way special effects and storytelling have progressed over the years. Start with the earliest film’s cinematic release and proceed from there.

The recommended order based on release date is: Alien (1979), Aliens (1986), Predator (1987), Predator 2 (1990), Alien 3 (1992), Alien Resurrection (1997), Alien vs. Predator (2004), and Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007).

This approach gives a sense of nostalgia and an appreciation of how the franchise has managed to adapt and change over time. It is suggested for anyone who wants to experience the movies the way they were initially introduced to audiences.

IV. Building up to the ultimate showdown

The expected Alien vs. Predator crossover event was the inevitable result of these two powerhouse sci-fi franchises. This approach emphasizes that event to create anticipation, leading up to it by watching the most anticipated movies first.

The recommended viewing order is: Predator (1987), Predator 2 (1990), Alien (1979), Aliens (1986), Alien 3 (1992), Alien Resurrection (1997), Alien vs. Predator (2004), and Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007).

This approach builds the excitement for the crossover event and depicts the story leading up to it. It’s great for fans who want to focus on getting the most out of the crossover event.

V. The “Machete Order” for Alien and Predator

The Machete Order, which was popularized for Star Wars viewing, has been adapted for Alien and Predator movies. This order stresses the importance of character arcs and creates a compelling storytelling flow. Starting with the first Alien movie, watch the first two films in each franchise consecutively before proceeding to the crossover events.

The recommended viewing order is: Alien (1979), Aliens (1986), Predator (1987), Predator 2 (1990), Alien 3 (1992), Alien: Resurrection (1997), Alien vs. Predator (2004), and end with Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007).

This viewing order places the focus on the character arcs and storytelling flow. It’s recommended for the viewers who want to experience a movie universe’s stories as coherently as possible.

VI. A thematic viewing order

A thematic viewing order is another way to get the most out of the Alien and Predator universe. Like the Machete Order, this viewing approach uses categories to bring together related films. This order is designed to help viewers appreciate the themes that are core to each film in the franchise. There are five broad categories for movies in order to create this order: origins, mutation, hunting, space, and architects.

The recommended viewing order is: Prometheus (2013), Alien (1979), Aliens (1986), Alien 3 (1992), Alien Resurrection (1997), Predator (1987), Predator 2 (1990), Alien vs. Predator (2004), Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007), and end with Alien: Covenant (2017).

This viewing order offers a new perspective to the franchise, emphasizing practical themes instead of a plotline or timeline. It’s suggested for those who want to immerse themselves in the worlds and motifs of Alien and Predator.

VII. Conclusion

Ultimately, there is no perfect order to watch the Alien and Predator movies. Each viewing order has its advantages and disadvantages, and you should select one that best suits your interests in the franchise or the storytelling concepts of each movie. Whether you’re a long-time fan or new to the Alien and Predator universes, we hope this guide enabled you to choose the ideal viewing order that makes the most sense for your enjoyment.

Thank you for reading.

(Note: Is this article not meeting your expectations? Do you have knowledge or insights to share? Unlock new opportunities and expand your reach by joining our authors team. Click Registration to join us and share your expertise with our readers.)

By Happy Sharer

Hi, I'm Happy Sharer and I love sharing interesting and useful knowledge with others. I have a passion for learning and enjoy explaining complex concepts in a simple way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *